Ouch!

I hurt myself last night in class. My fault completely, of course. I tried to challenge myself, and myself won. Luckily it’s a common injury for me, my SI joint and lower back de-whacked. By which, of course, I mean they got out of whack. I immediately took care to finish out the class carefully and without further injury. I did a good job, and I think finishing allowed me to stretch it out somewhat. I took some powdered magnesium when I got home and laid flat on the floor. All of those things are combining to help me be able to move today, but I wish I had time to go to the chiropractor!!

Sometimes, this attempt at getting back in shape is extra frustrating. My body is prone to a few different sets of injuries. I wish I could say that when I am fit and healthy again, I don’t have to worry anymore, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. I wrecked my knees quite impressively when I was in the best shape of my adult life. The Army gets to send me a disability check every month because of it. My hips are another story. No one messed those up for me – I was born with them. They have an annoying angle to them, so my legs do this thing where I’m not really knock-kneed but if my feet are pointing straight forward, my knees are either touching or pointing mostly at each other. The end result is that my body doesn’t have very good building blocks to stack on. The people I have come to call my me-team all help in different ways to strengthen and repair, but my body fights back. Lately, it has been fighting back with abnormal amounts of whole-body swelling. I would say it’s fat, but I really don’t think it is. It’s like full scale inflammation. As a result, I’ve called the allergist to self refer for some testing, and with luck we’ll start to determine some of my problems.

Even with all the pain, though, I am feeling some serious gratitude. In a long-held seated forward fold yesterday, a few words were said about finding gratitude, for even one tiny thing. I immediately started crying from the wave of gratitude that hit me. Yoga. The opportunity to see and feel progress. The attitude of the teachers at the studio. Starting when I did, which has allowed me to do yoga in the park on Saturday mornings while the weather is still good. The inner strength and relief from myself.  The reminders to just… breathe.

When I’m at yoga, I feel like the luckiest person in the world. I take that with me, sometimes for a few hours and sometimes for even longer. I am a better person because of yoga. Who knows where this journey will take me? All I know is that it’s the right path to be on. Namaste!

Chip In Your Two Cents

