And So It Begins!

Yesterday started out so awful, I wasn’t sure the weekend would recover. I missed my first flight and had to scramble to change my ticket so I could make it up here for the retreat. It worked out, but by the time I landed in Canada I was stressed, exhausted, starving (airlines aren’t very gluten free friendly) and in desperate tears. Thankfully, my retreat roommate and ride pulled up just as I was leaving the airport, and we stopped at Starbucks for Pumpkin Spice lattes and some snacks to tide us over for the drive up to the resort.

This resort “Private Guest House” is amazing. It’s three floors, the living room has glass garage style doors that open up to the huge deck. We did restorative yoga last night under the stars on the deck, after which we had dessert and I promptly crashed. 

This morning, we woke up to coffee brewing and a nice wake-up yoga class, then breakfast (BACON!) and now free time for a few hours. I noticed a few things, though, and I know if I don’t write about them, I’ll lose them. I’ve already lost a few.

Last night, toward the end of the restorative yoga class, I noticed that with every exhalation, my brain/head felt very full, uncomfortably so. I had had a headache since I woke up, but this was a very strange discomfort. It didn’t matter what position I was in. I don’t know what that signifies or not, but I want to remember that discomfort because it was fascinating.

This morning, in hatha yoga class, we were told to NOT go as deep as possible into poses, to back off a little and find comfort. I noticed several times that it was difficult for me to back off. I learned a few things to note about the shape of poses, and got some better work in because of it – that was awesome. Especially the part about tipping the pelvis into the ground during cobra pose.

The point of this retreat is to embrace the principles of Health At Every Size. I don’t much about that philosophy yet, but I’m learning, and I know logically that it is a very good thing. I bought the book, and I’m working on embracing the emotional aspect of it as well. 

Everyone has been very accommodating for my food allergies as well, and I am so grateful that we can be here, where people are accepting of each other and excited to have fun and really enjoy the food and the yoga and the companionship. I think later, we might indulge in some mini golf or swimming, and it all sounds really amazing. 

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some unplugged free time to go enjoy…

Chip In Your Two Cents

